top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

18: does it live up to the hype?

I recently turned 18 and my God the freedom has been overwhelming. Going out a lot has led my bank account and liver to HATE me, but it also has taught me some valuable lessons that I wish to share because you know, now I am so old and wise…


Going out can actually be a very scary, grubby experience (when I first went out, I took one step into Birdees and thought I was going to be permanently stuck to the floor, considering how sticky it is). But besides the fact that the Valley is as dirty as a joke you can’t say at social functions - the Valley is also not the safest place to be, so you do have to have your wits about you. Don’t be boring and petrified that you are unable to have fun, but also watch your drinks getting made, charge your phone so if you lose your friends you can contact them and if a guy is constantly feeding you drinks and you can feel yourself about to go to the doom zone of no return (that’s the zone where you’re throwing up or unconscious in the club bathroom) maybe turn down that one free drink.


If you do lose your friends, I am sure they would really benefit, and value being asked where they are and if they are safe. If they went home, ask them if they are home safe, especially if they went home by themself.


The entry way of the doom zone of no return looks different for everyone and the best way for you to not find out what your doom zone door looks like, is by knowing your limits. There is a difference between being a fun and humorous drunk and that step too far where your friends have to look after you. Don’t get me wrong, if you slip up once and have one bad night, I’m sure your friends will forgive you (they aren’t your friends if they don’t) but every time you go out? Nahh, your friends deserve to have their fun dancing and meeting new people, they shouldn’t have to give it up to look after you.


Finally, just some little tips and tricks on what to take and drink on a night out! Always pack a hair tie. If you’re like me and like to dance up a storm, (notice how I didn’t say a pretty storm… I would call it quite the dorky, careless storm) you should always have a hair tie to put your hair up with. It is beneficial if you want to cool down and to hide the obvious sweatiness from the guy at the bar giving you appreciation looks for your amazing dancing and definitely NOT judgemental looks on your moves. Also, always pack spare makeup like powder, so you can touch up the makeup you just sweated off because you probably, stupidly didn’t pack a hair tie like I told you to. Also remember a powder brush because it could look sus packing on powder under your nose with your finger in the bathroom. Pack your lip-gloss or lipstick to always touch up your lips because even if you look like death, you look like death with confidence! Finally, my favourite drinks I have discovered to order on a night out that you HAVE to try! Malibu and cranberry juice, fireball and apple juice (it tastes like a literal apple pie), Captain Morgan and pineapple juice, Midori and lemonade and Kahlua and coke.


Be safe but have the best time, dancing the night away!


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x





145 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page