top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

Critiquing 2021 Golden Globes outfits

With the virtual Golden Globes having just past, I thought it could be fun to share what I personally thought were the all-time hits, with blitz of the event and what were the all-time misses that I will have to diss. To be frank, I write this with jealousy that I just wasn’t invited to the event… how rude of the Golden Globes…


For a virtual event I think I was expecting multitudes of different outcomes on fashion fits. I was predicting it could go all time pyjama themed, as most of the nominees were watching from their beds eating takeout and secretly feeding the dog the leftovers of their dinners. Or, it could have gone, all out futuristic themed being all technology based, with lots of silver, aluminium tones included within outfits. Much to my surprise (because this rarely happens), I was wrong. It was none of the above. Not all the outfits but most, appeared to have a 20’s, old Hollywood theme amongst their fashion choices.


Elle Fanning really showed old, Hollywood style who was boss with her Gucci icy blue, silk number, giving me major modern day Elsa vibes. The colour of her dress looked beautiful against her skin tone and the diamond earrings complimented the 20’s Hollywood motif. The dress also seemed to be very practical as that extra piece of fabric she is holding away from her would’ve been very useful for whiffing away her farts. Shame she was only in the comfort of her home, that this useful tool couldn’t be utilised.

Julia Garner also aligned herself with this random motif, having a roaring 1920’s inspired, Prada dress. I personally think the crème colour on the dress would’ve looked nicer, if it was just one shade darker, especially against her skin tone. But that glam red lip on her, looks damn fab and really adds a pop of colour to her achromatic coloured dress.

All hail Lily Collins (and Saint Laurent). Omg when does she not look fabulous? The intricacy of this dress, the embroidery, bedazzlement, and shapes in the patterning! If I would her, I would never take this dress off. It looks like it would be perfect for me to wear casually in my living room on a Saturday night while I watch Sex and the City with a glass of wine. Not only does the pattern of the dress give me modern day geometric art deco vibes but her hair styling is also very fitting for the old Hollywood motif.


Now, I knowww I said I predicted pyjamas as a theme for the 2021 Golden Globes, so I think I am being hypocritical when judging Kristen Wiig’s outfit… but when you compare her look to the others, she really does look like she is wearing a nightie. Put her dress in silk and I’m pretty sure Bras N Things sells something similar.

Nicole Kidman, especially in this pose looks like she needed two tigers next to her. In the Louis Vuitton, I’m sad to say I just think this one was a bit of a flop. I’m confused about the silver shoes with a dress that has gold embellishments? And that random extremely sharp contour? But she does look fab for 53 and I’m sure Keith Urban and her two imaginary tigers agree.

Drum roll please for my favourite look of the evening….


Eiza Gonzalez in Versace. A modern take on Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s with a feminist twist as the design has diamonds that caress her breasts (those last three words freak me out when they are put together, ew, but it’s the perfect way to describe the dress) really emphasizing her femineity. It’s simple yet classy. Her diamond earrings and Alexandre Birman shoes match perfectly whilst her red lip just adds a little extra oomph. Eiza, if you’re reading this, please let me borrow this outfit sometime!


These were just my personal opinions on looks from the 2021 Golden Globes. Like I said, I only truly enjoy reviewing these fabulous ladies’ outfits because it’s almost like my way of living through them vicariously.


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x

87 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page