top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

Don't let La Nina ruin your summer!

According to the Betoota Advocate, Queensland is heading into La Nina this summer. The article said La Nina is a natural occurrence, that unfortunately means Aussies can expect a wet summer with plenty of rainfall. So, to help you overcome your grievance of hot girl summer 2021, I thought I would write a ‘How to stay relaxed yet entertained inside this summer’.


I’ve curated a list of things I personally enjoy doing to avoid boredom. So, this is going to be a very lame and awkward blog if it doesn’t translate to spark the interest of others, but I’ll give it a go anyway…


To start, I think everyone should do a romcom marathon to get the heart strings throbbing. Here is a list of my favourite romcoms to get you started:

- Serendipity

- Someone Great (not a romcom as such, more of a breakupcom but still adorable and a very heart-warming watch)

- Notting Hill (a classic)

- When Harry Met Sally (another classic)

- Me Before You

- What If?


Also, due to it being the time of year where everyone is stressed about present buying and nervous about having to see their creepy uncle soon, I would recommend a Christmas movie marathon. This will not only calm the nerves but remind you of what Christmas is all about – receiving presents! Oh, and family and giving and delicious food and playing fun drinking games with the grandparents (maybe that’s just my family…). Anyways, here is a list of my favourite Christmas movies:

- ELF

- The Grinch

- Santa Clause

- Arthur Christmas


Side note: no one asked, but I have an internal hate for the Polar Express. Don’t ask why. Maybe something traumatic happened whilst I was watching it once? I don’t know, but I just have a passionate hate for this movie please don’t watch it at Christmas. Even if you do watch it, please do not try and convince me to like this movie, your persuasion will not work.


To one up both those lists, why not combine romcoms and Christmas movies into one! You know it will feel like the joy of Christmas Eve (because everyone knows Christmas Eve is more exciting than Christmas Day) but also like having a loving partner on Valentine’s Day, what a dream combo! For example, movies like:

- Love Actually

- Last Christmas

- The Holiday


I was a late comer to relishing reading until I was introduced to the following books. Now I have fallen in love with reading, which is another enjoyable way to spend time indoors. So, light a candle, pour yourself a cup of tea and curl up in bed with a book while it rains outside. Books to curl up in bed with:

- Is Anyone Out There? by Marian Keyes (a romance novel with the biggest plot twist)

- HeartSick by Jessie Stephens (omg the best book, sorry another breakupcom but, it is relatable to everyone in some way or another)

- The Harry Potter series (well I am the biggest Harry Potter nerd so it could just be bias, but it’s just an easy read for people who like books a little more mystical and magical)

- Frankie magazine (very easy, chilled out read with some adorable and humorous articles)


I love listening to podcasts while doing other creative things like writing or cooking. I would even recommend colouring, beading, or crocheting for some people. I, however, sadly just don’t have the fine motor skills for those types of activities. I get frustrated when I don’t colour inside the lines. But podcasts you could listen to while completing these creative activities include:

- Just the Gist (basically giving just the gist on interesting stories you could bring up at a dinner party)

- Heavyweight (hearing different people’s niche stories where the creator of the podcast helps people try to resolve a moment from their past that they wish they could change)

- What are you wearing? (a MamaMia podcast discussing items of trend this season, fashion news and budget vs boujee recommendations)

- Diaries of the wild ones


Finally, productive things you could do that will make you feel accomplished while staying indoors.

- Clean out/ reorganise your wardrobe (could always listen to a podcast or watch a movie while cleaning out your wardrobe, to make the process a little more fun)

- Reorganise your room

- Make a vision board


I mean, I didn’t write this to jinx hot girl summer and officially declare it dead for 2021. Though, La Nina will be a humorous, ironic reflection of all hot girls’ sombre moods. I’m just preparing everyone for worst case scenario. I hope this summer is as bright, sunny, and rich as Stormi’s future (ironic on so many levels), filled with many beach, waterfall, and Burleigh Pav trips!


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x



70 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page