top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

Giving back but also paying forward? Doing two directions at once can be powerful.

There are a lot of things in the world that make me angry. Wars, racism, classism, body shaming, sexism and sadly, that’s just to name a few. There are many, MANY more flaws in this world that would take me a long time to list. So, long that by the time I finish listing, baby George will be king. Well actually, who knows at this rate, with the queen kicking on in her late age.


Now, I know I can’t change/ fix all these problems. They are much bigger than the 19-year-old from Brisbane who sits behind a keyboard to ramble about her personal, first world troubles. But I want to make a difference in this world, even if it’s just a small change. So, let me use my writing, my zealous babbling, to enlighten you on someone who has made an impact in this world, to inspire you to make your own difference in an area you are passionate about.


The 2022 young Australian of the year recipient is Dr Daniel Nour. He has created and works in a non-for-profit medical service for people experiencing homelessness. He has 145 volunteers, four clinics around New South Wales and has changed the lives of more than 300 patients. And he does this on top of his full time work as a doctor.


Now, I will be the first to acknowledge I don’t know anything. I am young, I have a lot to learn. I do know what I am passionate about and I do know Dr Daniel Nour has inspired me. That is why I volunteer once a week at Hummingbird House, an end-of-life hospice for children. I love it! I love meeting new people each week and helping out where I can. Now, I don’t tell you this, as a “look at me I am such a good person” type of comment. I tell you this because, no I am no Australian of the year like Dr Daniel Nour. No, I am not dedicating my life to sick children. I simply give up three hours of my week to talk to parents who are going through the most unimaginable situation, about the weather, the latest movies that are out at the cinema or simply just sit in silence with them, so they know they aren’t alone. I simply, play with the siblings of the sick children like they are my own siblings. I simply, talk to the sick or disabled children with the same intelligence I would talk to anyone else because although these little people with disabilities may struggle to communicate, they have beautiful minds with a sense of humour. Just because they have an intellectual disability, doesn’t mean their personalities aren’t as unique as a typically developing child.


I was asked after my first week of volunteering if I had felt like I had been helpful throughout my shift. I answered “no”, as I didn’t feel like I was working hard. I hadn’t been lifting heavy things, I hadn’t felt tired from running around and doing lots of things at once and it wasn’t a very long shift. I had sat around a dining table and made easy conversation while eating dinner with a family going through a very difficult time. Yet, this was just the help they needed. And this small deed of making a positive impact on others’ lives, even filled my bucket.


There is a plethora of ways you can give back to the community. Give your time by donating blood, volunteer for a homeless kitchen (especially at Christmas time) or take part in a charity run. Donate your unwanted clothes or gifts, donate money, and raise awareness for your chosen charity. You could even grab a group of friends and complete a DIY homeless food run. Make your own food packs and travel around your inner CBD to deliver the food packs to those who need them.


Mother Teresa once said, “I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples”.


I say, “making a change by myself is like a silent but deadly fart. It reaches others away from you and some people don’t even realise where it has come from.”


I also say, “whatever you do, always give 100% unless you’re donating blood”.


Wow, some very Ruby influenced, inspirational quotes for you. I hope you feel inspired.


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x




94 views0 comments

ความคิดเห็น


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page