top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

Go on, carry-on packing

Though my last blog was pretty much an obituary to summer 2021 due to La Nina, the weather won’t stop people holidaying or going away. By completing a couple of solo interstate trips this year and only packing carry on, I feel like I really got into a groove of how to pack efficiently. This now, allows me to share some tips and tricks of how you can pack for your summer holidays.


I must be honest. I have bag organisation issues. I know every inch of my packed bag like the back of my hand. I know if something has left it, if someone has been in it, around it or probably even glanced at it. Some people may think this sounds crazy however, I find it to be quite effective. By having an organised bag when going away I:

1. Never lose anything because I know when something is missing

2. Get ready faster, knowing where everything is and not having to rummage through trying to find the odd sock

3. Can very easily tidy up my belongings for check out, allowing me to pull a Ross from Friends and use up every second, I have paid for, in my hotel room.


Omg I sound crazy but crazy organised, right? And that can’t hurt.


I think it is a personal preference of how you like to organize your bag. I like to organise by categories of clothes. So, bottoms are one folded pile, tops are another and togs and pjs are usually a final one. When organizing by category of clothing, the size of the items usually aligns, allowing you to stack clothing of the same folded size to maximise space.


I actually am very fun to go away with I swear!


When planning what clothes to put into each pile, I like to think day by day. If I know what I have planned for each day I plan what I would wear for each outing. Starting by top and bottom then putting bra and undies that go with the outfit then shoes and accessories. If I don’t know what is planned for each day, I still pack outfit by outfit but make sure I pack an array of outfits for differing realistic occasions. I wouldn’t be packing jumpers and jeans for a Hamilton Island summer holiday…


Now, I know shoes are pretty and personally, my happiness starts within the sole (bit of shoe humour for you…). But when packing for your holidays, you have to pack your shoes succinctly. You can flaunt your statement green sneakers that only go with two specific outfits at home. If you have colourful slides that you desperately, want to wear with this one outfit you are packing to wear away, I’ll make that compromise with you. They’re slides; small, compact, and easily packed. Sneakers on the other hand, are not so easy to pack. You must make sacrifices and only pack the pair of sneakers that will go with majority of your outfits. For most, that is a plain white sneaker. If you require a runner for gym, and a casual sneaker, that is fine. But you may want to sacrifice the funky, colourful slides for space.


When packing shoes, it really is all about compromising. Thoroughly think through with the day-by-day outfits you have packed, what sneaker will go with majority of the outfits.


My final golden packing rule: a white button up shirt is essential! I can’t emphasize this enough! I say this with so much seriousness. Like your parents calling you by your full name, serious! You must pack a white button up shirt. I even recommend packing it in your handbag, not even in your big holiday bag.


POV: You’re wearing your comfy clothes on the plane. The aeroplane starts to get a little cold. You throw on your accessible, versatile white button up to add an extra layer of warmth.


POV: You’re limited for space in your carry-on bag and are going on a summer holiday. Your outfits are basically just your favourite togs and shorts, but you’re needing a cover up for the top while you go out for lunch and are breaking from the beach. BOOM! You put on your white button up.


POV: You’re camping, and you’re limited for shade and absent of sunscreen. What is still cool (both in heat and fashion) and protective? Your white button up shirt.


POV: Your togs haven’t dried properly overnight and you’re checking out, so leaving the hotel towels behind. What do you wrap your wet togs in? Your white button up shirt!


I could give so many more bizarre and specific scenarios about how my white button up shirt has come in handy, particularly in independent travelling. It has been the greatest lesson handed down to me by master mother. Shout out mum x


Now, I hand these wise lessons to you. Travel safe and pack with plenty of space left over so you can shop on your holiday and bring back more clothes!


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x

64 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page