top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

Inner thoughts about your friends leaving and you feeling alone… so you don’t feel alone.

2023 for me is going to be the year of growing up, moving out and moving on.


On tik tok I always see those American videos of students saying, “ahh I’m leaving school and moving away to a university, on a different side of the country. I’m leaving my friends and family, so sad…” or like when Troy and Gabriella from HSM almost had to breakup because of moving states after high school. And I never really understood it. It isn’t as normalised in Australia. I think majority of my friends, and people I went to school with, etc are still in the same city. Until now…


A lot of my friends are moving to different cities and countries next year. Some are taking big holidays; others are going on university exchange and some are moving with no return dates. It’s because of this realisation, that our time together from now is limited, that we spend every moment with each other likes it’s our last. That sounds so morbid. But the timing of everyone leaving to capture their independence, means our quality time together is reduced.


Every joke is a little funnier (which is boosting my ego…), every hug goodbye is tighter, and every moment is so surreal that these people are MY people. I am so fortunate that I found my people, I am so grateful but it’s like they say, you don’t know what you’ve got till its gone. But the truth is, I probably did know, I just never realised I was going to lose it.


Having independence and growing up is the most important thing and is obviously inevitable. I just believe, it’s something that isn’t spelt out to you in your early 20’s, until you experience it. Or, maybe it was, I just didn’t realise it would rattle me so much. It’s an awkward time of your life when everyone is in different stages of their lives with different priorities. It’s scary to go through regardless, let alone, whilst losing all your comfort people.


Your early 20’s is a time when meeting new people is frequent, but nothing can replace your lifetime friends. Thankfully technology will savour our friendships, obviously we will Facetime and stay in touch through social media. I have no idea how our parents did it. But I also guess, that shows the strength of your friendships. Everyone has those people where you can spend ages apart and it feels like nothing has changed when you come back together. And I know that will be the dynamic of my people leaving. So, trust that will be yours too.


If you’re on the other side, and you’re the friend moving away, this is the most exciting experience ever! Try and think about the positive things about moving overseas, or to your new town. When it comes to my turn, I’ll be focusing on things like, finding out what my housemates’ parents think require to be in the fridge. Hopefully then, the philosophical question of whether tomato sauce belongs in the fridge or the pantry will be answered?


I think I truly just spilt my inner thoughts and fears about everyone growing up and moving on, for no proper reason other than to clear my own mind. But I do hope that maybe if you are feeling similar emotions, you don’t feel alone. It’s normal to be scared, sad or like your life and comfort zone has been disturbed.


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x


148 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page