top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

My bad mission with a beautician

A couple of weeks ago I went to get my eyebrows done. It wasn’t with my usual beautician, so I was a little bit nervous. The lady at the front desk sent over the girl that would be doing my eyebrows and I could just tell she was unsteady, anxious, and was making overly small, small talk with me, (if that even is a thing). I could tell she was an apprentice and hadn’t been working as a beautician for very long, so understandably, she had some jitters.

However, seeing her uneasiness made me feel extra nervous. I was about to trust her with what some would call their precious babies of the face or the physical feature that controls their communication of surprise or fear… or maybe I just call my eyebrows that, but either way, it was a big deal trusting not my usual beautician to do my eyebrows.


Fast forward to an hour of back and forwards communication of her getting me to check my eyebrows and me trying to communicate where they needed fixing, she had finally turned what I would once refer to as Picasso masterpieces on my forehead, into slugs.


Fat, no-arch, dark slugs on my forehead. And after pretending I loved them and paying and leaving the beautician, I face timed mum crying in the middle of the shopping center… yes this really was a low point for me. I even walked into the chemist to buy something and the lady could tell I had been crying and asked if I was okay. I mean it was a very nice gesture, but I was very embarrassed.

Anyway, in between my tears and sobbing on facetime to mum, she had explained to me that I paid for this service. If I really wasn’t happy, I should go back and politely explain that I wasn’t happy with the final product and would like a different lady to do my eyebrows. Now, I felt extremely bad.

I didn’t want to go back and crush the dreams of this apprentice and offend her. But I also believed I had paid for a service and could go back and be nice about the situation. So after my main hype women (mum) on the other side of the phone had hyped me up to go back, I walked in and just politely showed pictures of the last time I got my eyebrows done and graciously asked if they could look more like the picture instead. The lady at the front desk was so nice and didn’t mind sending a different beautician to fix my eyebrows. And just like that, my eyebrows had become Picasso paintings again.


After I had gotten back in the car and was flexing my beautiful eyebrows to my friends, I also explained the traumatizing story (because I am dramatic) that I had just been through. Many of them were astonished that I had that confidence. Wondering how I could go back and ask them to fix my eyebrows, even though it really did look like I had two Twix chocolate bars on my face. So, I would like to share the same message, my mother gave me in case any of you girls are ever in a similar situation. You paid for the service! You wouldn’t order a dress from Princess Polly that was too big and keep it, would you? You would return it. The same goes for a service, whether that be nails, hair, facials, you paid for the service, and deserve to be happy with the outcome. Now, I am not saying you go back and demand a full refund and expose their business with bad reviews on Yelp. I am saying, you can go back and calmy and kindly explain you are not happy with the service, and most of the time, the employee will understand.


So, basically, my mum is a good hype woman and also taught me a good lesson I thought would be helpful to share. You do have the confidence to go back if you’re unhappy. It is so much easier just to go back and get a good outcome than put yourself through the pain of just crying every time you see yourself in the mirror, until your eyebrows are fixed again.


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x

94 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page