top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

One colour for oneself (Days 1-3)

Whilst I had spare time in the past three weeks, I set myself a seven- day fashion challenge. To prove the point that 1) yes, the same colour or pattern can be worn top and bottom, without it clashing. And 2) that you really can venture into your closet and recycle old clothes to look good, instead of going out and buying new ones. The challenge included: seven different monochromatic outfits, wearing the same colour or pattern top and bottom, using nothing but the clothes from my wardrobe or my family’s wardrobe. Nothing new could be purchased to suit a certain outfit. Sounds easy? Well... Mumma didn’t raise no bitch, so I didn’t set this task with easy intentions. The challenging aspect kicks in when you really think about how much colour range you have within your closet. I predict you most definitely own denim shorts and jeans for the bottom half, and maybe some black and white basic tops. But the niche, bright and vibrant colors like neon yellow or lively pink, you own less of and therefore, that’s when it became difficult to create new and funky monochromatic outfits using different colors. So, let’s see how I went…

Day 1: Black day. As sombre as that sounds because I wasn’t heading to a funeral, it was probably the easiest day of them all. I own a lot of black (tops, bottoms, coats, and accessories) but this outfit was easy to dress up and down whilst also functional to keep warm with. I wore a pair of black velvet, flare pants, and a one-shoulder, black crop. I then accessories it with red statement pieces, for example, a bright red bag, Nike air force 1’s that have red embellishments and a red lip. I decided to wear an oversized Tommy Hilfiger jacket that had patterning in the back lining, where red was a feature colour and red embroidery on the back of the jacket.

Day 2: White day. White is also such a basic, staple colour that can easily wash you out so, I decided to accessories and feature pink with my mostly all-white outfit. I wore white linen pants with a sheer white, patterned top. That fabric pairing was odd, however, I didn’t want something like linen on linen that would look too heavy. So, the sheerness of the top added lightness and also a little bit of sexiness at the same time. The white, sheer, patterned top also really impacted on not washing me out as the yellow center from the flowers and my hot pink bra being visible, added color embellishments. I tied the pink in with the same Nike air force 1’s as the red embellishments from afar looked hot pink (and I don’t think anyone noticed!).

Day 3: Gingham day. On day 3, I was going out to a fancy lunch, so knew I could go all Melbourne on these Brisbanites. I own a black and white gingham dress and mum just happened to own a perfect matching black and white gingham coat. The checks within the pattern were the same size and everything, it was like they were made for each other!! Despite all the pattern going on within the outfit, the black and white did almost wash me out, so I added a pop of red. A red lipstick, a red bag, and a pair of low sneakers that had red embellishments. The dress was short, so low sneakers were needed as I loved how long the short dress was making my legs look, and I didn’t want to cut them off with higher sneakers like air force 1’s. I also was sure to tie the coats ties at the back, to give the coat more shape and therefore, give my body more shape as I was wearing the coat open.

That's my ramble.

Ruby x

(to be continued)


76 views0 comments

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page