top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

One colour for oneself (Days 4-7)

Day 4: Brown day. This day was originally one of the hardest outfits to create, however, turned out to be my favorite of the seven fits. I found a Big W tortilla brown coloured skirt, that I didn’t even know existed in the back of my cupboard. The skirt was meant to be worn on the hips but as it was way too big for me, I wore it high waisted, so it changed from being too long to an appropriate length. The skirt luckily came with a tie belt, that I could cinch the skirt with on my waist, adding shape to the skirt. Looking through my mum’s cupboard for a brown top I found a three-toned brown snakeskin patterned top that is meant to be worn untucked and stops just below the hips. Not liking the length of it, I used the tie that is usually loosely tied up at the front to be tightly tied at the back, and tucking excess material into my bra. This created a long, bell sleeved, high neck sheer crop top that now had a pretty tie embellishment at the back. I paired the brown day outfit with slip-on brown sandals and a brown leather bag.

Day 5: Pink day. I own the prettiest pink, silk, midi skirt from Zara, that would be silly not to utilize in this challenge as it is a flamboyant statement piece within itself. However, as the silk skirt was almost reflective of the light, it added texture to the outfit, so I knew the pink top needed to be subtle. A pale pink and matte material. I searched through the house, finally finding my dad's Tommy Hilfiger light pink button-up shirt. I tied the shirt up at the front just above the skirt, showing a little bit of stomach, and rolled the sleeves up.

Day 6: Double denim day. Denim on denim may be despised or shone down upon in the fashion world however, I personally believe it can be done. I wore these two-tone denim shorts from Alice McCall, a denim top tucked into the front of the shorts, and a denim jacket. The tip with double denim is that it always looks more fashionable when the denim bottoms and denim top or jacket are the same shade of blue. You can’t wear dark blue denim jeans and a light blue denim jacket. So, one of the denim's colours in the two-toned denim shorts was the same as the top. Then the extra colour on the shorts that was a dark denim colour, was a good break up from the full-on monochromatic outfit.

Day 7: Yellow day. Yellow is my favorite colour so I told myself I had to do a yellow day, however, it was easier said than done. I don’t own any yellow monochromatic pieces of clothing, only lemon patterned pants and yellow full piece togs. So, I decided to wear the yellow full piece as a bodysuit with the yellow lemon patterned pants. To disguise the tog material, I wore the same daisy patterned sheer top from the white day, as the yellow center of the daisies matched yellow day. So, I didn’t look like a complete sun, I wore a brown straw bag and brown sandals as accessories.



So, it was no Bear Grylls survival challenge however, it was not easy. I challenge you to do something similar, as it is very beneficial to create more outfits you can wear out, utilizing more than your own closest and recycling clothes.


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x

85 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page