top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

Should we expect transformations from our New Years' resolutions?

Although you will probably be writing “/21” when jotting down the date and scribbling it out, to correct it to “/22” until at least February, Julius Caesar actually moved the new year to January as Janus is the God of beginnings and endings.


I disagree. New Years have always just been another day to me. I have goals and aspirations for my life. Whether that be in my everyday e.g., exercising at least three times a week or for the far future e.g., moving to London. Who says you need just a yearly resolution?


In doing some general research through casual interviews with my friends I realised this isn’t the same mindset for everyone. Some people believe their brain thinks the start of a year acts like a reset. Others believe it is a good time to make goals but only if done right. Small and specific. Don’t make massive goals and then lose motivation. It is about having discipline also. Maybe set a small goal for the first half of the year, track your progress, and then try and improve it for the second half of the year.


I think it is also amusing to make fun resolutions as they don’t all have to be about self-growth. We can’t all be as perfect Zendaya. Or as perfect as her relationship with Tom Holland.


I don’t know. Things like: taking more embarrassing/ funny videos and pictures of my friends, keeping gum or mints in your bag so you can always be seen as the “organised, hygienic friend” and offer them to your mates after meals, or finally, try and taste every cocktail on your favourite bars menu (over the whole year, not in one night).


So, stop drinking your morning coffee after brushing your teeth and don’t feel bad about breaking your New Year’s Resolutions this year. As I said, who says you need a new year to make a new goal? If you give up on one, just start another halfway through the year. And don’t forget to have discipline as well as motivation. Writing your goals out or even in your daily reminders on your phone is always a good start. This way, if you don’t complete the task, you will probably feel guilty for clearing it from your lock screen, acting like you have.



That’s my ramble.

Ruby x

79 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page