top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

Summer essentials that you need in your summer wardrobe

With Brisbane in the midst of a season change and summer brewing, I think we should discuss the crucial change from a Winter wardrobe to a Summer wardrobe. I have compiled a list of 5 summer essential pieces of clothing to add to your wardrobe, and tips and tricks to ensure your outfits don’t wear you, you wear them.


I find wide leg jeans to be essential during summer, rather than skinny jeans or mum fitted jeans. It provides breeziness for the summertime heat rather than keeping your legs like hot sausages in bread.


I would also recommend straight leg trousers to be fitting for a summertime. Consider white linen trousers because they can be worn over togs to the beach but also, can be dressed up with heels and a pretty crop. I also own a black pair of linen straight leg trousers more for nighttime and I believe you can buy this style of pants in any colour.


Short floral or pastel-coloured summery dresses are essential to my summer. Leave your black mini dresses in winter and bring out the pastels and fun summer colours so you can wear a dress that makes you feel as if you are walking along the coast of Positano. These styles of dresses can always be paired with brown sandals and brown leather or straw bag, whilst also can be dressed up with heels or wedges.


Midi floral print or pastel-coloured skirts are similar to straight leg trousers. They can be worn dressed up with heels, sandals or with white sneakers. They are versatile and can be worn with a white tee, a crop top or even with an oversized knitted jumper. You can make many different outfits by alternating one piece of clothing.


Summer is always a good time to bring out texture within accessories. Whether that be straw textured bags or shoes, frills or ruffles hanging from your summer dress, or tassels dangling off you everywhere. I personally believe the vibe of summer is the best time to bring out texture instead of having it look like a sleek, dark winter.


Making outfits is taking two pieces of clothing and turning them into an outfit. But don’t forget about accessories, shoes and most importantly practicality. In the winter, your warmth is the most important aspect of your outfit. But in the summer, you want to stay cool and be comfortable whilst rocking a sexy fit. Don’t wear something to impress anyone but yourself and I personally always impress myself when I come up with an outfit that is comfy yet stylish.


It is beneficial to buy pieces of clothing that you can make numerous, different outfits with. My tip for shopping, especially in summer, because you aren’t layering as much and are just pairing two pieces of clothing, is to list 3 different things you can wear with the piece of clothing you’re wanting to purchase before buying it. For example, if I wanted to buy a white venroy skirt, I would list three tops I have in my cupboard that I would wear with it and name three places I would wear these outfits. This saves you buying unnecessary clothes and allows you to get the most out of the one piece, as you can wear it with more than one outfit.


My final tip! If you have broad shoulders like me, I recommend that you wear things that come in at your waist so the hour-glass shape that we all longingly desire, is accentuated. This will ensure the outfit doesn’t wear you and you wear it.


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x

113 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page