top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

The effects of fashion on our environment

I compare everything to food, and I like to think of the fashion industry as nachos. When we throw out our old clothes that we don’t wear anymore, they sit in open landfills for 200- plus years (McCarthy, 2018). And just like when nacho chips are out for too long and turn gross and stale, our clothes turn gross and emit methane into the atmosphere, a greenhouse gas more potent than carbon (McCarthy, 2018).


In the making of clothes, especially fast fashion, the manufacturing process creates more greenhouse gases than the aviation and shipping industry combined, as polyester is the most popular material utilized and it requires large amounts of fossil fuels for manufacturing. I don’t say this to make you feel bad, because trust me I love a bargain at Zara. But I do mention this to make you aware. Aware of how often you are buying clothes, maybe you could cut back on your shopping addiction? Decreasing the high demand of fast fashion clothes. I also want to make you reflect and be mindful of what you do with your old clothes. I always like to donate mine, whether that be to a friend, Vinnies or a homeless man I see on my afternoon walks. Or you could repurpose them, making them into a cleaning rag or a face mask. This will decrease the amount of clothes that are thrown out and then sitting in landfills for 200 years, effecting our earth. Donating or recycling your clothes to either your friends or for another purpose will allow the nacho chips to stay crispy and fresh and fuel someone else’s hunger…


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x

109 views1 comment

1 Comment


bonpat
Sep 29, 2020

Couldn’t agree more!🌞

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page