top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

TV shows/movies that have made me want to pack up and leave Brisbane


Am I the only person that when they watch a new tv series they really enjoy, filled with characters they really like, they begin wanting to embody the vibe and aesthetic of the show and characters? I feel like I sound like a crazy psycho, but I think it all began when I was a little kid and I wanted to be the next Disney princess or dress up like Sharpay Evans. I am not saying this in a weird way, like I want to dress like the dragon from GOT (except there was the one time I dressed up as Dorothy the Dinosaur as a child, but I think that’s a little different). All grown up, I now enjoy copying outfits or making character inspired outfits from someone really cool in a new show or someone who is beautiful and rocks fashionable fits.


I believe that the shows I watch influence my style. Not a show like the Bold Type, that is a current show that uses current style, but shows that portray characters with niche styles, that are different to my everyday look. I challenge myself to incorporate diverse styles into my everyday outfits inspired by characters that have different styles.


With all of this in mind (and this is going to be super awkward and pointless if no one else can relate to this emotion I’m going through) below are outfits I made just with items of clothing within my wardrobe, that embody a show I want/wanted to be a part of. From travelling back to the 90’s trying to embrace a Friends aesthetic. To a modern-day record store owner that is the epitome of New York chic (yet probably smokes a little too much weed), I tried to re make Rob’s outfits from High Fidelity (I just realised I don’t think the High in High Fidelity is meant to be a pun intended).


You’re actually lying if after Mamma Mia 2 you didn’t fantasise about running away to Greece and dressing like young Donna. I live in an apartment and even contemplated planting an orange tree into a pot just to remake the iconic scene where Lily James picks oranges from the tree and puts them into her fish net bag singing The Name of the Game. Dressing with the inspiration of young Donna, made me feel like I could travel to Greece and escape reality, especially during these covid times. I remade three outfits from Mamma Mia 2 that were so simple. The outfit worn by Lily James during the iconic boat dance with young Bill, the outfit worn during ‘Adante, Adante’ and a final outfit worn when young Donna is sitting with Tanya and Rosie.



















The yellow top on the left was my sisters but originally an old design from Sportsgirl and the navy, linen skirt is from Venroy. The blue, patterned flowy pants were again my sisters but originally an old design from Sportsgirl and the navy linen top is from Dissh. Finally, the flowy, beach dress worn over shorts was op-shopped for $2. Super easy fits to put together that made me feel like I could move to Greece.








Friend’s style challenged me to modernise fashion pieces from the show into my everyday looks. 90’s fashion is coming back into style, so I found it quite easy to recreate Rachel Green’s outfits from Friends. A tee shirt underneath a linen maxi is not only matching to one of Rachels outfits but also very practical for the winter season (well a Queensland winter...) I get wear out of my summer clothes in the cooler season, by adding extra layers underneath, to warm myself up.

I feel like the next outfit was just too iconic not to recreate. Wearing an old skirt that was my mums from Topshop, brought in London in the 80’s and just a basic white turtleneck.

Using the same skirt, a branded, graphic, oversized t-shirt and a pair of converses, I created a look from High Fidelity. This outfit isn’t my usual style. High Fidelity inspired me to try a different, grunge fashion style. Similarly, to the movie Mama Mia 2, dressing like Rob from High Fidelity made me feel like I could escape to New York and live out the night life that never sleeps. Translating that to Brisbane language: by attempting to pull off a grunge look, I almost felt like I looked cool enough to get my septum pierced or hang out in West End.


In the outfit on the right, I am wearing Levi jeans, Alias Mae boots, Tommy Hilfiger t-shirt and a brown, standard belt that was my grandpas.


I believe what we watch and taking a liking to certain characters can inspire the outfits we choose. Dressing to the same aesthetic as someone on a show allows me to escape my reality and experiment with my fashion style. However, again, not in a weird way. I don’t dress up expecting to escape to Hogwarts.


I think while you’re young it is important to search for your style and experiment with what suits you. Broadening your viewing of tv shows/movies and being open to be inspired by the things around you, is how one can be motivated to try and wear new things. I also challenge you to recycle clothes within your own household. Those belts and oversized shirts your dad does not wear anymore could match the exact vintage-inspired look you were going for. By going through your Mum, Dad or siblings closet you could also do the favour of throwing out any ugly pieces they have that embarrass you every time they wear them. “No dad I don’t know where that ugly Hawaiian shirt you brought 10 years ago has gone…” (sorry Dad!)


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x

88 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page