top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

Why I should be the next Sophadophaa

There is nothing better than kicking the new year off with a new wardrobe, right? Not only do I suggest starting your year with a wardrobe clean out (especially with this La Nina weather and so much time spent indoors) but also let’s start the year with a wardrobe upgrade. So, I’m writing a short list of what fashion capsule pieces I believe you should have in your wardrobe for 2022!


Capsule pieces are like fashion staples. They are almost like, if you had to, you could live only with these fashion pieces and nothing else.


The list I have curated, I believe can work for multiple aesthetics. For example, I am someone who would rather wear a New York type style amongst Brisbane and I was recently styling my friend who didn’t have this same aesthetic. I was styling uni outfits for her and almost every outfit I chose, she said was “too much”, because it was my aesthetic not hers. So, this gave me the idea to curate a list of capsule pieces that she (someone who represents a more every day, causal cool style) can put together and wear. Yet, myself and people with similar style could also use these staple pieces but add individual flare and style to the outfit.


I have found beige trousers to be a fashion staple in my wardrobe. They are multi seasonal, can be worn with almost any colour and can be dressed up or down! I have a pair from Seed that I have worn casually with sneakers to uni but also dressed up with heels. I also enjoy how they are fitting to more than one aesthetic. These trousers would look stylish with an oversized, band tee, if that’s your aesthetic, a feminine basic crop, or even a more corporate button up.


Affordable, beige trousers that are available to buy now are:






Twill Tailored Pant from Seed ($99.95)
















Norah Natural Linen Pant from Dissh ($99.99)




















Band Tee aesthetic


















Classy, corporate button up



















Feminine crop aesthetic





















Multi-seasonal













With block and bright colours predicted to be a trend for 2022 I personally froth styling multiple block colours together. But, if this isn’t your style, just one bright and colourful piece will take you a long way in 2022. If you’re similar to my friend and prefer a simple style, just a bright sneaker or a bright pant could be very cool if styled with a simple and plain white or black top. But if your style is similar to mine, I would wear both the sneakers with the pants as well as a block-coloured top.


Examples of colourful sneakers or trousers people could wear:


New Balance 327’s ($105.00)


Either pair could be worn with the above beige trouser outfits as this could be your colourful fashion staple for 2022. Others would have pants like the ones below be their colourful staple for 2022 and simply pair it with plain shoes and a simple top:






Lioness Miami Vice Pant Green ($99.00)













ASOS Style Cheat wide leg satin pants in pink ($72.00)













Whereas I would wear both the pants and the sneakers together!


The beauty of sets, particularly patterned sets which are predicted to be the ‘it’ thing for 2022, is that you can get multiple outfits out of the one set. You can reuse the pants with a non-matching top or plan a different outfit with the set top and pair it with non-matching pants. This is again, something very versatile for different aesthetics. For example, I am more likely to wear a set like the Wine Dates Shirt in Noir bloom with the 90s muse pants in Noir bloom from PepperMayo together (see below). Whereas, my friend who has a simpler style, is more likely to wear just the pants with a plain black crop, or just the shirt with plain wide leg jeans.





Peppermayo ($169.90)

















A more subtle set that would be more like my friends taste but could still be jazzed up with colour, for someone more with my taste is the linen Dissh sets.







Roberts natural linen midi skirt ($79.99) Spencer natural linen crop top ($69.99)















A gold necklace is an accessory that matches many aesthetics and can really dress up or make an outfit more girly. They can be layered if that’s more your style or just add an extra bit of femineity and daintiness. To me, it’s not even just a fashion capsule piece for 2022, it’s a timeless staple piece.





Classic gigi white necklace, yellow gold, 16.5” from gigiCLOZEAU ($350.00)










14K Gold love deeply diamond necklace from by Charlotte ($549.00)









A more affordable option is the Recycle Metal Trisha Necklace Set Gold from Princess Polly ($18.00)






Finally, a personal capsule piece that I believe everyone should own is mules. They are timeless, can dress up a pair of jeans and make an outfit go from casual to smart casual. Yet, they can also make an outfit that is too dressy feel a little more toned down. Again, they are versatile across multiple aesthetics but even as someone who prefers a bolder style, I love a classic nude or black mule to make an outfit sophisticated.


For example:

If in this outfit she was wearing black mules, the outfit would be a little dressier.


Like this outfit:



Another example is, if Zoe Kravitz was wearing her outfit with sneakers or sandals, her outfit would be much more casual.


A final example is if, this outfit was worn with silhouettes, the outfit would look dressier. But because it is worn with mules, it makes the outfit more smart casual.


Affordable mules that are available to buy now:






Peppi Black Quilted Leather Block Heel Mule from Wittner ($190.00)

Or even try the Wittner outlet stores for some cheaper goodies!











Kylie heels from the iconic ($69.99)











You can also own some fun, colourful and funky mules to brighten an outfit!






Billini Quinn Orange from Universal Store ($99.95)






I hope regardless of what your style/aesthetic is, this has helped you find versatile capsule pieces for 2022. Enjoy cleaning out your closet and spending all your money…


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x

109 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page