top of page
Search
  • rubyrandall20

Wise Woman Words: Rants about Netflix shows and an attempt of inspirational words

Now Brisbane is back in lockdown and we are back to the routine of wearing pyjamas all day, then having a shower and putting on a new, different pair of pyjamas (surely, it’s not just me that does this), I have had a lot of time to feel unmotivated and do nothing. However, eventually inspiration did spark. In my daily quest to find something new to watch in the deep, dark wilderness of Netflix I finally found… Bridgeton.


Recently watching Bridgeton, the new Netflix show that intertwines Gossip Girl, Hamilton and To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and is just all round amazing, I have come to the realisation how lucky I really am. The show not only taught me that every single dress of the 1800’s had the same, unvaried design that was somehow considered meretricious. BUT also, ladies of the 1800’s had hardly any choice in who they choose as their husbands, no possibilities to work, had no rights to education like reading or writing, no rights to be creative or have hobbies and were believed to be capable of nothing.


I am not naïve to knowing that in the 21st century there are still countries where women have no rights, concluding me to realise how lucky I am to live in Australia and leaving me to be very empowered to be a woman in this era.


Women have come a long way. Women in history fought for their rights. The right to an education, the right to vote and the right to work to be independent. I am grateful for my education, grateful for my freedom to make choices and live freely. Why should I waste my opportunities that ladies from the past worked so hard for me to have?


Don’t apologise for being in love with someone, don’t apologise for being you, because two centuries ago you would’ve lived a very different life. Now out of all times you can let your skills and talents develop and let your creativity shine as in the 1800’s you wouldn’t have been allowed to.


Look, I am good at a lot of things, including eating chocolate just before dinner and making up stupid dance moves in my living room but what I really like to think of myself as, is a connoisseur of procrastination. And so, I write this to spark inspiration within women as Bridgeton sparked inspiration in me as it got me out of my art of procrastination, even if it was just to write another blog and simply get my list of things to do completed.


So, go read that book you’ve been meaning to start. Join that dance class you’ve thought looked cool. Or start that running schedule you promised to begin in 2021 (and I’ll ahh... catch up/ cheer you on the sideline).


My point in simple terms is, unapologetically be yourself because there are women who fought for you to be able to do the things you love. And Bridgeton is a really good show that you should go watch!


That’s my ramble.

Ruby x





77 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page